JXInsight: how to document a rich UI app?

One of the suggestions I’ve had for improving JXInsight documentation was to create a small document describing the application (called JXInsight console) UI. Basically, this document should contain some short descriptions for the panels and also a legend for the icons used. In my experience, this approach proved to be the simplest, the cheapest but most effective.

But, it looks like this will not work (or it will just partially work) for JXInsight. The console UI (doesn’t this sound weird ? 🙂 ) is using around 1000 icons (yes, you heard me right). So, creating this document is gonna take a lot of time and is gonna be quite expensive to maintain. I am wondering what other options would you suggest for documenting a very rich UI?

Here is a screenshot of the app, just to get an idea of what I am talking about:

JXInsight rich UI

Posted by: Alex Popescu (aka the_mindstorm)

Leave a comment

Filed under Tools

Leave a comment