Error recovery parsing

The last weeks I have spent some time working (in fact, to be realistic, I was just scratching some problems) on the code folding plugin Coffee-Bytes for Eclipse. (I start loving the code folding idea a long time ago, since the first usage of JEdit – if I remember well, and for a long time I was wondering why so many editors do not use this feature. But about this maybe other time).
The current investigations are for an error recovering parser. What I mean by this? A parser that is able to continue parsing (and maybe even return the broken nodes skeletons) after a failure (an unrecognized structure, a structure not according to the grammar).
I have some backgrounds on writting parsers (using JavaCC and ANTLR), but till now I have written only parsers that abort the operation on the first error. Moreover, this time I have to rely the parsing on Eclipse support. This job seems pretty interesting, but as you probably know all the documentation I have is the javadocs. So I would like to hear from you any ideas how such a parsing must work.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Error recovery parsing

  1. Anonymous

    You might start by asking this question on the Antlr mailing list. There is some support in Antlr to help out with this and there’s a lot more coming in v3.0. Anyways, you’ll likely get a lot more help from people who have done this sort of thing.

Leave a Reply

